Copy
View this email in your browser
Facebook
Staff Blog
Website
Email us
Winter Storm Check-in
Dear Southern Region Unitarian Universalists,
 
As the severe winter storms continue to move through our region, and the damage left by the storms becomes better known, please know your Southern Region staff team is holding you in our hearts. Please let us know how you are and if there is anything we can do to help.
 
For those in Texas in need of immediate aid, please consider reaching out to one of the many Mutual Aid organizations in Texas: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1rdMnbzYxfXFrG1DefGqN3R1zu_lan2fml2bEYRpMcRQ/edit
 
As longer-term needs become known, please remember that congregations may apply for grants from the UUA Disaster Relief Fund. This relief fund can help congregations care for their buildings and the needs of their members, as well as provide support for their wider community partners, especially those who may not be eligible for other grant programs. Learn more about this fund here: https://www.uua.org/finance/grants/disaster-relief-grants. If your congregation and/or members are in a position to help, contributions to the UUA Disaster Relief Fund may be made here: https://giving.uua.org/disaster-relief.
 
Additionally, UUA President Rev. Susan Frederick-Gray shares this message:
My prayers are with those across the South, especially in Texas, as they struggle to survive a winter storm that has caused power and water outages, flooding and disruption of critical supply chains for food and water. 
 
And, we know that communities of color, poor communities and the frontline and fence-line communities in Texas that suffered the worst after Hurricane Harvey, will again suffer the worst and longest impacts of this devastating crisis. All during a pandemic.
 
I pray for those struggling to stay warm and survive. I pray for the families still without power, for the elderly, for those incarcerated without power, for people in care facilities – for everyone struggling to survive. We must not look away.
 
To Unitarian Universalist congregations: remember the UUA’s Disaster Relief Fund is here to support to you and your partners in the community. https://www.uua.org/giving/areas-support/funds/disaster-response.

 
Stay safe and please stay in touch.
 
In faith,
Your Southern Region Staff Team,
Natalie Briscoe and Connie Goodbread, Co-leads
Kathy McGowan, Cameron Young, Nancy Combs-Morgan, Rev. Nato Hollister, Lillian Drab-Braddick, Tyler Coles, Kathy Charles, and Jessica Curren
 
P.S. This communication is also being sent as an emailed e-blast to Presidents, Ministers, Religious Educators, and Administrators of record as congregationally reported in my.uua.org. Please help your UUA and Southern Region staff team stay in touch with you by keeping this information up-to-date and by reporting complete and accurate contact information for your leaders and staff (including email addresses!). Apologies in advance for any duplicate communications you receive from us.
Serving the Southern Region

Natalie Briscoe, Co-Lead, nbriscoe@uua.org, 512-296-5396
Kathy Charles, Events Coordinator, kcharles@uua.org, 281-216-6999
Tyler Coles, tcoles@uua.org, 804-592-1159 
Nancy Combs-Morgan, ncombsmorgan@uua.org, 859-494-2424
Jessica Curren, Administrator,  jcurren@uua.org, 407-894-2119
Lillian Drab-Braddick, ldrab-braddick@uua.org, 617-948-4368 
Connie Goodbread, Co-Lead, cgoodbread@uua.org, 727-772-3508
Rev. Nathan Hollister, nhollister@uua.org, 919-923-3398
Kathy McGowan, kmcgowan@uua.org, 518-859-9267
Cameron Young, cyoung@uua.org, 972-383-9197

Learn about our staff and work on our staff page!

Share
Forward
Copyright © 2021 UUA Southern Region, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp