We highly recommend viewing this email in your browser to enable all links.

Congratulations to Paul Hankins,
NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award Winner! 

The Indiana Council of Teachers of English is thrilled to announce that Paul W. Hankins, an English teacher at Silver Creek High School in Sellersburg, Indiana, is the affiliate’s award recipient for the NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award. Paul will be recognized by NCTE at the Secondary Section Luncheon at the NCTE Convention in Denver. For more information about the NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award, including past winners, click here

Established in 2001 by the NCTE Secondary Section, this award recognizes and celebrates high school classroom teachers who demonstrate excellent practices and contributions in the classroom.

Honorees are chosen based upon a formal nomination and review process. This year, we had several strong candidates, but Paul stood out for being, as one recommender commented, “Paul is a champion for his students, school, and community.”

Paul has been teaching for 16 years in the West Clark Community Schools district, where he fosters an open classroom community and makes all students feel welcomed and respected. One of his recommendations noted, “Mr. Hankins is the quintessential definition of an educator, changing our world one student at a time.” While teaching in his district, he has earned his Master’s degree and has served as an adjunct professor for Indiana University Southeast. Outside of the classroom, Paul is active on social media, where he regularly shares his poetic reflections on his teaching.

Announcing the 2020 ICTE Executive Committee

After consulting with NCTE and other affiliate leaders, we have learned that most State Affiliates will be in a "holding pattern" for the 2020-2021 school year due to the COVID uncertainty.  This means that they are unlikely to conduct or plan major business like conferences or larger in-person gatherings.  After having our own conference cancelled this past March, after months of work and planning, the ICTE Executive Board has decided to follow a similar "holding pattern" for next year, with the possibility that we may plan some small event if things change and if advisable according to health guidelines.

As such, the Executive Committee will remain the same next year -- Mike Macaluso will stay on as President, Jeff Spanke as President-Elect, Laura Gellin as Immediate Past-President, Theresa Wampler as Recording Secretary, and Terri Suico as the Executive Treasurer. We are also pleased to welcome Kathy Higgs-Coulthard as our Second President-Elect for AY 20-21. Kathy will assume the position of President-Elect in AY 21-22 and President in AY 22-23. 

Share your favorite books with #ICTEreads

For June's #ICTEreads, let's think about texts on your "to be read" list that you are especially excited to crack open and read! Please share your selection from your "TBR list" and don't forget to include #ICTEreads in your response. Happy reading!

The ICTE Board and newsletter editorial team wish you a wonderful, relaxing summer. We hope the summer is filled with joy and health for you and your loved ones. We will not be sending out a newsletter during the month of July, but we will be excited to connect with you again in August as we prepare for the 2020-2021 school year. 

Become a Member of ICTE

Did a supportive friend or colleague forward this email to you? Would you like to learn more about the benefits of being a member of ICTE?

Indiana Council of Teachers of English welcomes all literacy teachers and advocates at all levels.  If you would like to join ICTE and receive encouragement, support, and information about literacy, instruction, and policy, click the button below and sign up.  It's free!
Copyright © 2020 ICTE, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
ICTE/Terri Suico
Saint Mary's College Education Department
23 Madeleva Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Contact us at

Want to sign up to receive the newsletter?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Indiana Council of Teachers of English · Saint Mary's College · 6 Madeleva Hall · Notre Dame, Indiana 46556 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp