We highly recommend viewing this email in your browser to enable all links.

It's your last chance to register for ICTE 2020: 
"Sparking Joy" in Teaching. Don't miss out! 

Find and share joy in teaching at the ICTE's 2020 conference Sparking Joy in Teaching. Join us on March 21, 2020, for interactive workshops, keynotes by award-winning authors and educators, networking opportunities, and practical strategies. We will also have a pre-conference event (free for all registrants!) with Carol Jago on March 20.

In February, we shared titles of workshop sessions you can look forward to attending. Here are a few more: 
  • #BestBooks: Books that Bring Joy to You and Your Student
  • Stories from the State House: Engaging in Education Policy
  • Dungeons, Dragons, and Standards: Gamifying English to Spark Learning and Engagement
Registration rates are just $50 for an instructor ticket, $35 for an adjunct ticket, and $35 for a student ticket. Act now: online registration ends on March 16. Onsite registration will be available for an additional fee. We hope to see you there!
Register Now

ICTE Conference Program Now Available!

The conference program for ICTE 2020 "Sparking Joy" in Teaching is now available. Click the button below to see the schedule for the day, a list of workshop sessions you can look forward to attending, and other important information.
Show me the conference program!

Know your way around ICTE 2020 "Sparking Joy" at
Notre Dame: Campus Map 

Directions for Parking and Mendoza College of Business
University of Notre Dame

No matter from which direction you’ll be coming to campus, if you’re using a navigational tool, you’ll likely be routed to Angela Boulevard, which is the main road that follows the front (south) side of campus. From Angela, you can turn north onto Notre Dame Avenue (the main street of campus that gives you the best view of the Dome), Eddy Street, or Joyce Drive.  

From Notre Dame Avenue, turn right at the first stop sign, Holy Cross Drive, and follow it until you see the Football Stadium and parking lots on your left. You can park in any of these lots.

From Eddy Street, follow it down to Holy Cross Drive and turn right. Follow it until you see the Football Stadium and parking lots on your left.  You can park in any of these lots.

From Joyce Drive, continue straight and pass over Holy Cross Drive. You can park in any of these lots.

Once you are parked, walk toward the Football Stadium (the building in front of the Stadium is O’Neill Hall). If you are facing the Football Stadium, Mendoza will be to your left. We will have folks stationed right outside Mendoza to help orient you.

For those of you staying the night or looking for food after the conference, Legends is a small pub next to Mendoza. Or, if you follow Eddy Street south across Angela Boulevard, you’ll see several restaurants along this street, as well as a parking garage with free 2-hour parking. The Fairfield Inn & Suites is also located on this side of Angela between Eddy Street and Joyce Drive. If you are interested in some Notre Dame apparel or souvenirs, the Notre Dame Bookstore is just on the other (west) side of Notre Dame Ave.

Share your favorite books with #ICTEreads

ICTE is pleased to continue our #ICTEreads initiative. Each month, we’ll post on Facebook and Twitter asking members to share their favorite books relating to a theme. You are welcome to respond throughout the month and as many times as you would like. Think of it as a way to share and hear book talks with educators across the state.

For March's #ICTEreads, share your favorite book by a female author or your favorite book about women in history. Please include #ICTEreads in your response!

Apply for the 2020 NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award

ICTE is now accepting nominations for the NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award. This award recognizes and celebrates a high school classroom teacher who shows zeal and innovation towards ELA, their students, and/or to the communities they serve. The ICTE Executive Committee will choose a recipient from all applications based upon these criteria, and the recipient will be recognized with a certificate at the Secondary Section Luncheon during the 2020 NCTE Annual Convention in November. The application, which includes a resume and two short letters of recommendation, is due April 24
Access Nomination Form Here

Free "Democracy on Film" Resources for Teachers

The Story of Movies, the educational outreach program of The Film Foundation is proud to announce their latest film study/visual literacy curriculum. Portraits of America: Democracy on Film is FREE to all educators who register at this link. The curriculum's first three modules are now uploaded: The Immigration Experience, The American Laborer, and Civil Rights. Each module includes multiple class films (both fiction and documentary) for in-depth study. Teachers can review the lesson plans, screening activities, film clips and assessments, downloading those that best fit their classroom needs. Learn more at the link above or on the "Resources" page of the ICTE website. 

Become a Member of ICTE

Did a supportive friend or colleague forward this email to you? Would you like to learn more about the benefits of being a member of ICTE?

Indiana Council of Teachers of English welcomes all literacy teachers and advocates at all levels.  If you would like to join ICTE and receive encouragement, support, and information about literacy, instruction, and policy, click the button below and sign up.  It's free!
Copyright © 2019 ICTE, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
ICTE/Terri Suico
Saint Mary's College Education Department
23 Madeleva Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Contact us at

Want to sign up to receive the newsletter?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Indiana Council of Teachers of English · Saint Mary's College · 6 Madeleva Hall · Notre Dame, Indiana 46556 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp