View this email in your browser

The Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Awards

The Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Award was established in 2009 to honor the life of Eve Marie Carson, a 2004 honor graduate of Clarke Central High School. In her brief life, Eve exhibited a human spirit that one yearns to achieve in a lifetime. Each elementary, middle and high school in the Clarke County School District selects one student in the exiting class (grades 5, 8, and 12) who best exemplifies the qualities exhibited by Eve to honor each spring. Awards are given as follows: 5th grade – $50 gift card; 8th grade – $100 gift card; 12th grade – $500 check.

Cedar Shoals High School
Stephanie Velazquez

Stephanie embodies the humanitarian spirit in her passion for human rights and helping her peers.  She is an advocate for all people to access post secondary education opportunities.  This year she served as a student leader to organize DreamFest, a student led community event for the arts to raise scholarship funds for underdocumented students.  She served as the president of the Spanish Honor Society and was an active member of HoPe (Hispanic Organization Promoting Education).  

Clarke Central High School
Jordan Rhym

Jordan consistently used her high profile at CCHS to advocate for all.  She was both a varsity volleyball and tennis player all four years of high school, and was a member of the nationally recognized Odyssey journalism staff.  She is continuing her education this fall at Vanderbilt University.

Classic City High School
Anjil Boyd

A recent transplant from NYC, Anjil fully embraced life in Athens and at Classic City.  She was a Work Based Learning student employed by the Athens-Clarke County government where she was consistently praised for her efforts.  She volunteered at fundraisers for Advantage Health Care and plans to attend Athens Tech this fall to major in bio sciences.  Her ultimate goal is to help eliminate STDs and HIV.

Alps Road Elementary School--Danae Laniyah Pope
Barnett Shoals Elementary School--Finn McGreevey
D. C. Barrow Elementary School--Braelin Grant
Burney/Harris/Lyons Middle School--Samaiyah Ra'aid
Chase Street Elementary School--Camilla Attaway
Clarke Middle School--Zaili Gantt
Cleveland Road Elementary School--Kendall Smith
W. R. Coile Middle School--Leslie-James Sanders
Fowler Drive Elementary School--April Murillo
Gaines Elementary School--Meneika Ellison
J.J. Harris Elementary School--Samary Ramirez-Garcia
Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School--Kyndle Smith
H. B. Stroud Elementary School--Daejah Dubose
Timothy Road Elementary School--Hailey Waters
Whit Davis Elementary School--Briggs Stoll
Whitehead Road Elementary School--Jared Manago
Winterville Elementary School--Kilee Bidwell

Copyright ©2018 Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County,Georgia
All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County, GA · P.O. Box 1708 · Athens, GA 30603 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp