Copy
....Home at Last

This Week in CACINA

The May/June Edition of "Extraordinary Catholics!" Magazine is out.

A magazine published for the
Inclusive Catholic Community.

Click HERE to read the magazine.


Bishop Tony Green has an article published on Page 16.
A reminder of CACINA's Mission Statement:

We are an inclusive Catholic community committed to living out the Gospel message of Jesus and offering sacramental justice to all regardless of gender identity, marital status, or sexual orientation, and we are committed to fighting for social justice to end racial disparities.

In that spirit - It is Asian American and Pacific Islander Month
Please view this 10 minute video to gain insight into Asian racism and stereotyping.

Bad driver. Math wizard. Model minority. In this hilarious and insightful talk, eighteen-year-old Canwen Xu shares her Asian-American story of breaking stereotypes, reaffirming stereotypes, and driving competently on her way to buy rice. Canwen Xu's slogan for life is “Canwen can win.”

Born in Nanjing, China, she moved to the United States when she was two years old, and since then has lived in some of the whitest states in the country, including North Dakota, South Dakota and Idaho. A senior at Timberline High School, Canwen is passionate about politics, and is the national membership director and Idaho state director for the Young Democrats High School Caucus. Also a programmer, she started an all-girls computer science workshop called Code For Fun and received National Runner-Up in the 2014 NCWIT Aspirations in Computing competition.

The CACINA Franciscan Community of Reconciliation officially welcomed Brother Richard Moran and Brother Victor Ray in to the community.

Brother Tony Green led the ceremony in the absence of Minister General Frank Betancourt due to illness.

The Franciscan Community of Reconciliation includes:

Brothers Victor Ayala - Frank Betancourt - Michael Dakota - Chris Goff - Tony Green - Richard Moran - Victor Ray - Tony Santore - Dante Taratini
Sisters Grace Wilgefortis Ferris - Lori Mitchell

If you are interested in joining the FCR - contact Minister General Frank Betancourt at innocents@catskill,net
Religions for Peace hosted a National Interfaith Prayer Service for Peace and Justice on May 5th.
It was a very moving and wonderful prayer service.
You may watch the service by clicking the YouTube video link above.

Christians Against Christian Nationalism is excited to host two of the country’s leading experts on Christian nationalism for a virtual event. Samuel Perry and Philip Gorski will share with us about their new book The Flag and the Cross: White Christian Nationalism and the Threat to American Democracy. The webinar will take place on Monday, May 16 from 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm.

Register Here
Next Online Gathering
 

Kumi Now

May 17: Week 20 - The Ongoing Nakba
 

Read the full entry online.


 
For Palestinians, May 15 is Nakba Day. That is the day following the Israeli Independence Day on the Gregorian calendar. The term Nakba refers to the 1948 catastrophe when over 1,000,000 Palestinians were forced from their homes or fled in fear for their lives. But this use of the term in the past tense suggests that the Nakba was over and done 70 years ago. This is not the case, as the events of 1948 were just part of a consistent and ongoing process that dates back to the Balfour Declaration and continues today.

Our guest will be announced soon.
 
Time: Tuesday, May 17, at 6:00pm East Jerusalem, Palestine time (UTC+3) That's...
  • ​Pacific (Seattle/Vancouver): 8am
  • Central (Chicago): 10am
  • Eastern (New York/Toronto): 11am
  • Atlantic: 12pm
  • Newfoundland: 12:30pm
  • Greenwich (London): 4pm
  • Central Europe (Paris/Stockholm): 5pm
  • South Africa: 5pm
  • Manila: 11pm
  • Sydney: 1am (+1 Day)
  • Auckland: 3am (+1 Day)
 
Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/94679502800 (You might need to do a quick registration. This link is the same, either way.)
Praying and Sharing Group
Every Tuesday at 6:30pm
All are Welcome to Attend
Click HERE to join by Zoom
Written by Fr. Victor Ray for the week of May 8th - 2022.
Click HERE to read the Lectio Divina.
Praying the Rosary.
Sundays at 7:30pm.
Click HERE to join.
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2022, Catholic Apostolic Church in North America, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
9314 Doris Drive
Oriental, NC 28571

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can
update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.