Copy
View this email in your browser
Friends Respond to the Russian Invasion of Ukraine
Friends in New York Yearly Meeting and around the world condemn the violence in Ukraine. Today, NYYM Clerk Elaine Learnard and General Secretary Steve Mohlke emailed letters of love and solidarity to Friends in Ukraine and in Russia on behalf of NYYM Friends. The letters are copied below. 

If you'd like to send a personal message to the Quakers of Kyiv, Ukraine, or read updates from them, you can visit their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/QuakersKyivUkraine

Statements made by NYYM-affiliated groups 
Online worship opportunities
Daily Online Meeting for Worship for Ukraine

A global, virtual Meeting for Worship to hold in the Light the situation in Ukraine, the decision makers, the soldiers, the citizens — all the people whose lives are in danger and already disrupted by fear — has been been organized by Friends House Moscow supporters in the USA. It is running every day for one hour at different times depending on your time zone (see below). The original Zoom link for our "Ukraine" daily Meeting for Worship has changed in order to permit a larger number of worshippers. The NEW (as of Feb. 27, 2022) connection details are given below. If you wish, please participate as and when you are able.

The (REVISED) Zoom link for the Meeting for Worship:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4165005614?pwd=NUtieEtqbDBYbjBrcGdMMzBKQ3drQT09
Meeting ID: 416 500 5614; Passcode: 182805

and the full schedule of the start time in different countries:
07:00am Honolulu; 09:00am Pacific; 12:00pm Eastern US;  05:00pm London; 06:00pm Paris; 07:00pm Kyiv; 08:00pm Moscow

Online Prayer Service on Ash Wednesday
shared by the NY State Council of Churches
The Conference of European Churches, the Lutheran World Federation, the World Communion of Reformed Churches, and the World Methodist Council, have issued an invitation to an online prayer service for Ukraine on Ash Wednesday — March 2 at 17:00 CET (11:00 a.m. Eastern Standard Time). The prayer service will include listening to voices from Ukraine.

Letters sent from NYYM to Friends in Ukraine and in Russia

To Our Dear Friends in Ukraine:

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.” – John 1:5

What a blessing it is that modern communication makes it possible for us to tell you: our hearts are with you, though we are far away. We have been watching and reading as Russian forces have entered your country. One’s home is a deeply precious thing, with all the memories it holds: worship and play, family and friends, hard work and day-to-day joys and sorrows. We are grieved that yours is threatened now.

There is one advantage to the distance between New York and Ukraine: when the sun goes down on your land, it is high in ours. If you should find your sleep disturbed in the night, you can know that Friends in New York Yearly Meeting are holding you in prayer. May God’s comforting arms surround you.

In the Love of the Eternal,
The Friends of New York Yearly Meeting

To Our Dear Friends in Russia:

The letter shared by Friends House Moscow on February 24th brings to mind the words below.

“All bloody principles and practices, we . . . do utterly deny, with all outward wars and strife and fightings with outward weapons, for any end or under any pretence whatsoever. And this is our testimony to the whole world.” – Declaration from Friends to Charles II, 1660

There is a unique pain when violence is done in one’s name without one’s permission.  

We know that your prayers, like ours, are prayers for peace and prayers for protection for every person in Ukraine. In recent days, there has been—rightly—much attention paid to the people of Ukraine, but our hearts are moved to make sure you know that our thoughts are also with you and your children. May you be blessed with courage and discernment, and may you feel the presence and protection of the Divine surround you.

In Friendship,
The Friends of New York Yearly Meeting

Twitter
Instagram
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2022 New York Yearly Meeting. All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
office@nyym.org

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp